Nice Drawers…

Standard

Soooooo, how are everyone’s drawers lookin? Ya know, one thing I have learned with our house is that no two drawers are made equal. Which is rather annoying to me…I mean really? Is it THAT hard to make two drawers the same dimension? Oy.

Currently, our spices have completely taken over an entire cabinet. Granted, we usually cook A LOT… And various recipes usually call for various assortments of spices. And because of this we have grown quite the collection. And they are seemingly taking over!! I mean a whole kitchen cabinet dedicated to spices? I. Don’t. Think. So.

We have a tiny galley kitchen, and new to utilize every space as efficiently as possible… So we decide (in the middle of kitchen re-facing) that spices needed to be contained in a smaller space…. They were just simply taking over too much space in the cabinet. So after researching Pinterest and all of the “spices organization” pins… This is what I came down to:

20120903-213100.jpg

20120903-213115.jpg

20120903-213157.jpg

These are all really great ideas, but none that I feel I could make work in our home. Instead I have just decided to dedicate in entire drawer to spices… This is what we have so far:

20120903-214403.jpg

Now, I have noticed my organizing doesn’t look as clean as the other sources… BUT I do have some improvements up my sleeve. For instance I plan on ordering around 20 empty glass bottles from Penzey’s… I will be able to sort them vertically rather than horizontally and they will take up much less space that way. Those bottles also come with labels, so I can label the lids and won’t have to lay them horizontally (as I have) to see the labels. Eh, it’s another project in the making… But once it’s finished I think it will be fabulous!

Hope everyone had a safe Labor Day… Wahoo for a four day work week (though only two for me!) 🙂

Stumble It!

One response »

  1. I like the drawer idea because you really DON’T have to buy other bottles to put spices into and their usually all roughly the same size but I don’t have an entire drawer to dedicate to just spices. Not only that, my partner would end up getting lazy and putting other things in there “Just until we find a space for it!” and it would ruin everything for me. One day, I’d like to do try version #1. I just have to find wall space!

Leave a Reply

